Mernda, House-sitting.

Saturday 27th December 2014, Mernda.

Here we are then at the end of another year, and what a year it has been. Both Linda and I have lost a family member, we have both suffered medical conditions with mine being a bit scary for a while but turned out to be basically nothing and Linda still suffering hers while trying to get treatment during our visit this year. I have finally reached pension age so our finances are now at a stage of hopefully being fixed and quite adequate, and I am no longer committed to doing voluntary work to meet Centrelink requirements, so hopefully very soon we will be able to just go cruising at our own leisure. The main concern is to get Linda’s ailment fixed, which may take a while, but we intend doing some travel, between doctor’s visits, around Victoria to some areas that we have not frequented. Most of the places we have been to in Victoria are those that are on the way in or out as we traverse to a different location, and we have been saying for a while now that we must spend some time just touring the areas we have missed out on, so now will perhaps be our opportunity.

We are at present house-sitting for one of daughter Narrelle’s friends while they are up in NSW somewhere having a good time, hence the place of Mernda that we are in residence.

Heathcote Junction.

Wednesday 10th December 2014, Heathcote Junction.

Been here for three weeks already, how time flies. I have now progressed to being in the age group of being officially ‘OLD’, reaching pensioner age. The past few years of my being on New start, because of a lack of finances, is now over and we are now no longer committed to being in places to meet the requirements of Centrelink, so we can once again feel free to travel wherever we please, after February at least. We have a couple of commitments while here and as soon as they are complete we are out of here. We have taken a house sitting position over Christmas for a friend of Narrelle’s for about 3 weeks, and Linda has to follow up and get treatment for an ailment she is suffering, then we can move on. The only other commitment is being in Brisbane in April.

I am doing my usual things while here in Melbourne such as filling in time doing garden work at Narrelle and Matt’s to cover our board, and I am still undertaking my couple of days a week voluntary work at the Telstra museum although I no longer have to do it.